Site Meter

In Defense of the Infield Fly Rule

You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. I assume you are aware of the law review article on the common law origins of the infield fly rule at http://www.pennumbra.com/issues/pdfs/157-1/Infield_Fly_Rule.pdf

  2. Bruce Boyden says:

    “There is a force in effect at all the bases; absent the rule, the runners must run when the ball hits the ground. But if they run and the ball is caught, they will be doubled off at their previous base.”

    What if only one runs, and the other stays put?

  3. If the ball is caught, then only one will be doubled off. If they both run (and there are no outs) there’ll be a triple play.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

*
To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image